Summer Reading

Standard

Might as well face it, I’m addicted to books.  I’m about to go crazy ’til I get my library card, before which I have to have proof of address, before which I have to get mail addressed to myself and/or a VA driver’s lisence which also requires that pesky proof of residency.  Heavy Sigh.  Yet, I have managed to join a book club and bring from Michigan my required reading:

  I highly recommend this book to any and everyone, with the condition that you read it WITH somebody…or a whole lot of somebodies so you can TALK about it afterwards!  That is truly the best best part.  Of course you can always talk to me about it if you so desire 🙂  My experience with this book was almost incomplete.  I had a rough time getting through the first section (the tragedy part) and stalled out, losing motivation to read on.  Much like the main character.  Then, in the Skatepark bleachers, I saw a lady reading it.  I had purposefully chosen NOT to bring it that day, and yet there it was with her.  “I’m reading that same book” says I.  “What do you think?”  says she. 

“I’m having a hard time with it.”

“Keep reading.  It gets much better.  I’m somewhat of a skeptic, so I’m hoping this book explains a lot.”

So a “seeker” encouraged me to finish.  It was worth every page of sadness and worry to get through to the later section.  The chat I had with a dozen or more Southern Ladies ages 30-70+ was priceless.  Persevere!

  This one is by one of my all-time favorite authors.  The “Kindergarten” essay guy.  I just finished it at Croatan Beach today.  Very thought provoking, witty, and clever.  Short snippets.

  This one is somewhat (okay, a lot) irreverant, but I love the way Jill Connor Browne writes with such humor and wisdom as well as many yummy recipes!  And financial advice too?  What more could one want in the off season?  This is one that makes me interrupt whatever Hubby is doing (he always puts his finger down to mark the place of whatever he is reading, and listens.  What a Spud Stud) and I will proceed to read some hilarious snippet to him.  He nods, smiles, and chuckles.  Check out all of their offerings (from the library just in case they are too bad-language-y for you) Hope you enjoy!

Then to cleanse the palate from those dirty Sweet Potato Queens, back to the Christian book club:

 I haven’t started this one yet, but it is in my car waiting for the next Skatepark/Beach day.  It was written by the daughter of Bill Hybels (pastor of Willow Creek Community Church in Chicago). 

So…what are you reading this summer?

8 responses »

  1. I read The Shack all the way to the end and thought it would be better. I think it’s an amazing book, just not one of my favorites. Definitely a “think outside the box” book!… I just read a book called The Unthinkable by Amanda Ripley about who survives disasters and why. I love to read non-fiction, but I also enjoy Christian fiction, so I am finishing up a series by Lauraine Snelling.

    Keep us posted on your adventures – in reading and in life, Shannon!

  2. I finished ‘The Shack’ about 2 weeks ago, and my daughter, Lauren, is now reading it! I wanted her to read it so that I would have someone to talk about it with! I love how he wrote as though it were non-fiction — the story is heart-breaking, but it really made me think ‘outside my box’. I really did love this book!

    The other books I just finished are: Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt; and Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana by Anne Rice (yes, the lady who wrote all the vampire novels). These fictional books are written from Jesus’ perspective as a child and before He began His ministry. Quick reads.

    I am currently reading, The Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne. He is one of the founding members of The Simple Way — a inner-city ministry in Philadelphia. He’s pretty controversial and has ruffled a few feathers in the Christian community. Anyway, I always like to be challenged and this book is doing just that!

    My reply has turned into it’s own blog — guess you touched a nerve with talking about books! 🙂

  3. Love all the tips! I read a fiction book about Jesus’ life as a child/teen called “Lamb” but I hated it. I actually threw it away when I finished reading it!!! Interesting and thought provoking, but just too irreverant and silly. Not a serious writer. I’m intrigued about Anne Rice though…

  4. I have been looking for a great book, but no luck so far. Just some mediocre ones that I won’t refer you to.
    I did write yours down though!

  5. I have two on my couch-side table:
    1.Love/”Respect” 🙂 Dr. Emerson Eggerichs- almost done with it, learning alot, failing miserably in the attempt to do what he recommends, but trying 🙂
    2. Son of a Witch (Sequel to Wicked)- haven’t started it yet, but hoping to this holiday weekend.

    Wish I could “read” them at the skate park with you,

    Sis

  6. My favorite of all times is “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers. I have actually read it 4 times and will probably read it again this summer. It is a love story, but is actually based on the book of Hosea in the Bible. It is a love story, but is actually a picture of God’s love for us (I don’t think there is a man on Earth that could love a woman like the man in this book). Any of Francine Rivers books are amazing! I have read them all.

  7. I plan to buy “The shack” on your recommendation. I took “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” to Africa, and am still reading. You would think I could have finished it on a 16 hour return flight. Instead I watched 3 movies!

  8. Hey Shannon – I just returned from a visit to Virginia, yesterday.
    Thanks for the book tip. I love the pictures of your family. I read A Time to Dance and then read its sequal A Time to Embrace both by Karen Kingsbury. I recommend both. Glad to see that you are doing well. Take care – miss you.

Leave a Reply

