Helpful Tshirts

Standard

My sweet neighbor has come over two times now with her adorable (quiet) 9 year old daughter.  The first time they brought cookies.  The second time, yesterday, they invited BabyKid to go to Busch Gardens with them.  One interesting thing about this sweet neighbor is that both times she was wearing a shirt that says in big bold letters:

 

 

INJURED BY A DRUNK DRIVER

 

 

On their “cookie” visit, I found this Tshirt Badge of Courage very intriguing, but found myself not quite brave enough to mention or ask about it.  She walked with a bit of a limp and spoke with a bit of a slur, but was completely delightful in every possible way.  So here she was again, and I think we will all go on a little neighborly theme park outing on Thursday where, as we make memories, we will also discover if she will wear the shirt again and possibly hear the story behind it while sipping a slurpie in line somewhere.

But it got me to thinking…not to minimize the seriousness of her incident, not to mention what a blessing it is when someone survives a drunk driving accident–that alone is reason enough to share the joy of being alive everywhere with a wardrobe of explanation/exclamation Tshirts.  But just how helpful might this concept be for numerous others?  I mean, I should wear one about every other day that says,

 

FORGOT TO TAKE MY CALM DOWN MEDICINE

 

  We’ve all seen “I’m the Big Sister” or “Bride” and “Groom” but what about,

 

SOMEONE I LOVE JUST DIED

or

I LOOK FINE BUT I HAVE CANCER

or how about, 

YOU DON’T KNOW ME…BUT YOU SHOULD

In the late 90s I needed one that said:

 

THEY’RE ALL MINE 

I DO KNOW WHAT BIRTH CONTROL IS/DOES 

NONE OF THEM WERE ACCIDENTS  

REMIND ME AGAIN HOW THIS IS YOUR BUSINESS?

 

but it wouldn’t fit.  Even in maternity sizes. 

 

Now I need one that says:

BE MY FRIEND

or

PLEASE HIRE ME

 

or better yet

MY KIDS ARE DRIVING ME INSANE. 

CAN THEY COME OVER?

(BUT I DID HAVE THEM ALL ON PURPOSE)

((WELL, MOST OF THEM))

but that might just bee a tad desperate, don’t you think?

5 responses »

  1. Love this!!! I have been thinking what my shirt would say!
    I especially like “you don’t know me, but you should” for you!!!

  2. CapriK, I’ve got one word for yours: HILARIOUS

    It’s perfect for you because in public you are secretly hilarious so it’s a label way, but it looks like a sarcastic comment to all the non-hilarious out there. What do you think? Maybe it should be in non-caps and a small font. Hmmm?

    Now what about Jips? She is my growing-out-my-hair role model right now, ya know. Maybe Golden Girl! HA! It’s all about the hair!

  3. I’m seriously thinking about getting the one that says…

    Front:
    THEY’RE ALL MINE
    REMIND ME AGAIN HOW THIS IS YOUR BUSINESS?
    Back:
    I DO KNOW WHAT BIRTH CONTROL IS/DOES
    NONE OF THEM WERE ACCIDENTS

    For my sister who has 8 kids! (I think it would fit)
    I think she would actually wear it, especially when going to visit my parents in West Bloomfield where I think there is a 2 -3 kid max. acceptable capacity for families! Anything beyond that and you’re considered freakish and subject to public staring and unsolicited comments.
    I miss you and am praying (and asking otehrs to pray) for your house situation.

  4. WOW!! That’s all I can say … that you would think this all through! You’re fantastic and people should get to know you! I can’t wait to hear the story behind the shirt from your neighbor!

Leave a Reply

