He SO Is. (Wk 3)

Standard

Buckle up your seatbelts, ’cause after a smooth start in Psalms, this one goes to an Ezekiel prophecy!  What a timely recap during the exhiliration of the Olympics.  Eat our bubbles, France & Brazil!

Jehovah = I am that I am                                Jah = I AM

Psalm 68:4  Sing unto God, sing praises to his name; extol him that rideth upon the heavens by his name JAH, and rejoice before him.

God is on his blinged out sapphire throne, riding across the heavens, but he’s gettin’ ready to GET UP.

Ezekiel 1:26-27  Above the expanse over their heads was what looked like a throne of sapphire, and high above on the throne was a figure like that of a man.  27 I saw that from what appeared to be his waist up he looked like glowing metal, as if full of fire, and that from there down he looked like fire; and brilliant light surrounded him.

KJV v 27  And I saw as the color of amber…

Amber was (muuuuuuch later) found to be the mineral conductor of electricity.  So before the Bible-writers knew what electricity was…they were struggling in their attempt to explain power with electric properties and attribute that to God’s very presence.  Seated.

Wowza.

So are you ready for this bit of earth shattering goodness?  In his power:

JAH tends to our soul’s need for exhiliration! 

We are legitimately wired with a soul-need for an occasional high, which…if it is not met in God, can get us into a whole lot of trouble.

Psalm 68:3  …let them be in high spirits and glory before God

Glad in Hebrew is samach (not to be confused with “sammich” which when made correctly quite possibly grilled, can also make one glad) It means to brighten up, cheer up.  Can I get a WOO HOO! 

The word for rejoice is alats which means to jump for joy, exalt, triumph (like the dancers on America’s Got Talanet or Michael Phelps looking at his times).

We are not intended, as culture suggests, for non-stop exhiliration.  The art of meditation is important as well.  We need a balance.  So think about how we can brighten up our lives…

Psalm 68:5  A father to the fatherless…

JAH also tends to our soul-need to be fathered.  We often need to engage I AM in this role.

I miss my dad terribly.  He was killed in April 2000 in a ridiculous low-speed car accident.  More than my provider and my family’s leader, he was the epitome of unconditional love to me and to others.  He was friendly, engaging, humble, intelligent and always complimentary and encouraging.  I miss him so much that most of the time it is easier not to think about all I am missing from him.  Even as I type this nutshell, though, I am seeing that all those attributes I love about my dad came from God in rich supply.  So HE IS my Abba Daddy Father. 

Galatians 4:6-7  Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba, Father.”  So you are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has made you also an heir.

Psalm 68:5  …a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling.

JAH tends to our soul-need for a champion.  Not just in an observational way, but like a warrior fighting for me.  An absolute defender.  Can I act like HE IS my champion?  How can I pray like HE IS my absolute defender?

There are many circumstances in which we need a champion, absolute defender.  We don’t have to be alone to feel alone.  There are many ways to be a “widow”. 

Are we (am I) emotionally disconnected from God?  Even if not spiritually?  Am I allowing God to minister to my emotions?  Lonely can be effective…Jesus went on purpose to lonely places to seek God. 

Luke 5:16  But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.

God doesn’t want us to be lonely people, but we all need lonely places…where He is the one we intensely cry out for.  Small talk with God is good too.  Is God so real that I chit-chat with Him?

We have a need for other people also, for fellowship AND refinement.  Bumping into each other often enough to smooth the rough edges off of ourselves.

If we control our environment enough to pull ourselves away from everyone we find aggravating, then THEIR PURPOSE in our life is not served.

We can let God do the “setting” of us in relationships.  Satan is also attempting to “set” but his “setting is invariably a SET UP!

There’s a difference between lonliness (for others) and longing (for God). 

May our eyes spring open to any relational SET UP that’s a toxic concoction, then fully invest where God sets.

Leave a Reply

