Salty Stuff

Standard

My Sister’s Coming to See Me!  And I am so excited.  Boy, will I have a lot to share THAT week. 

 

This week?  Notsomuch.

 

But I will tell you about the salty brownies. 

 

Way back in June/July 2008 when life in VA was fresh and new and I was not stagnantly waiting for school job something to happen, I was happily reading everything with Sweet Potato Queens in the title.  I knew Sis would appreciate the irreverant humor and the fat-laden recipes (’cause there’s no calories in reading, right?) so I got online www.amazon.com and found a cheap-o copy of the Sweet Potato Queens Big @$$ Cookbook and sent it to her for her birthday. 

Well, she left me a message on Sunday that she was going to make “Chocolate Stuff.”  I have made this about 12-45 times over the 11 weeks that we’ve been here.  In fact, I had made some just that night when I got her message!  I was so excited ’cause I knew it would be a hit for her and her company.  Finally we talked a few days later.

“No one liked it.  It was too salty.”

“What?  Salty?  I don’t even remember salt in the recipe.”

“Oh, yeah.  It said to put 1 tsp of salt.  I remember.  I knew you had said you liked salty & sweet.  I just thought that maybe you put ’em both together…”

So we both race to our respective Big @$$ Cookbooks and look it up.

“On page 155” we say in unison.

“Add 1 teaspoon of salt,” she reads.

“One QUARTER teaspoon,”  I read.

“Oh.”

“Oh.  Em.  Gee.  It must be a misprint.:

“No wonder it was on sale.”

No laughter.  Just crickets and deep, deep sorrow. 

Taps was playing somewhere in the distant background.

She was incredibly bummed, but not nearly as much as I, the giver of a tainted gift.  I hearby vow the following:

 

 

We will compare our Big @$$ recipes page by page while sipping frozen drinks and eating Intentional Salty Things on the beach.

 

 

We will make The REAL VERSION of Chocolate Stuff DAILY when she gets here.

 

 

We will take “before” and “after” pictures.  But maybe use photoshop.  Or other people’s faces/bodies.

I can’t wait!

 

 

PS  Here’s the recipe.  Couldn’t be easier.  From Jill Connor Browne

Beat 2 eggs, add 1 cup sugar.                              I know.  No one’s making YOU make it. 

Melt a stick of butter in the microwave with 2 heaping tsp. of Hershey’s powdered cocoa.  Dump the chocolate-butter into the sugar-eggs and mix very well.  Add 1+ tsp of vanilla and ONE QUARTER TEASPOON of salt.  That’s a tad more than a pinch and probably not enough to miss if you DON’T ADD IT AT ALL, which I don’t.  You can add 1/2 c. nuts if you want, but I don’t.  Then you just pour it into a greased loaf pan (or double it for a brownie pan).  Jill’s recipe says to put the greased loaf pan in a separate pan of water to make it gooey on the bottom, but I don’t.  And it still comes out gooey on the bottom and crunchy on the top.  Jill says to bake it, but I don’t (ha ha, just kidding…or am I?) at 300 for 40-50 minutes

Proceed to burn your tongue by eating it before it cools off completely. 

If you wait, it’ll still be THAT GOOD. 

 

But you won’t wait. 

 

 Just have the milk ready.

2 responses »

  1. We recently had a too salty moment in our household too!

    Sounds decadent!

    Some of us from BSF are getting together for lunch on Thurs. Could you please make an effort to come???!!! You could bring your yummy dessert!

  2. FYI sis,
    I still ate the way too salty chocolate. I DID NOT let it stop me. I don’t blame the book. I blame the lame-not-so-much-of-a-cook-sis that doesn’t realize a tsp of salt sounds like a bit much and can’t figure it out for herself.

    But you can TEACH me in person! I can’t wait!
    Sis

Leave a Reply

