I’ve got the joy. Pretty much.

Standard

I’m feeling SO MUCH BETTER now that I read about Big Mama’s couch.

http://thebigmamablog.com/index.php/2008/09/25/maybe-tomorrow-will-be-better/

Because if SHE doesn’t have anything to say, and SHE’S feeling “sad” then I am in GREAT company.

I begged God on Friday during an unintentional 4 mile walk down the VBeach oceanfront to give me back some joy.  I just don’t know where it went.  I used to have TONS and it just evaporated or something.

Well, here is a smidge of what He provided for my weekend enjoyment:

Time. 

As in, I had the TIME to either shop, or watch TV or enjoy some artistic sand sculptors from all over tarnation cranking out their brain gems and putting them right there into God’s creation.  The one that He said he would number Abram’s decendants as many as. 

I began to somewhat enjoy this trek.  Even though it was 89 degrees and I had made the poor fashion choice of dark jeans and ballet flats.  100% of the blame falls squarely on Clinton and Stacey.

This one was my favorite:

I know, right?  Like at first I was all, “Oh, no!  The winds/storm/hooligans messed it up.”  But then I read the sign and saw the one right next to it:

Holy cow!  Intentional breakage and crumblage?  To make a contrasting point?  STUNNING!  What a GREAT idea!!!!  And don’t you just LOVE the HAND holding onto the ROCK!  What a bonus right-brained concept. 

OK, so you may be onto something, Lord.   

And just in case you are wondering where exactly that idea came from:

Matthew 7:24-27  Therefore everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock.  And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock.  Everyone who hears these words of Mine and does not act on them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand.  The rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and it fell–and great was its fall.

And just for funsies…the Message version:

These words I speak to you are not incidental additions to your life, homeowner improvements to your standard of living. They are foundational words, words to build a life on. If you work these words into your life, you are like a smart carpenter who built his house on solid rock.  Rain poured down, the river flooded, a tornado hit—but nothing moved that house. It was fixed to the rock.  But if you just use my words in Bible studies and don’t work them into your life, you are like a stupid carpenter who built his house on the sandy beach.  When a storm rolled in and the waves came up, it collapsed like a house of cards.”

 Here was another fun interpretation of sand art.  Remember this fingerplay?  It was probably the very first one I ever learned:

Man, I love being back in the Bible belt.  The church may or may not have a steeple, but they all have people.  People who are loved by God.  Like me.  Oh yeah!  I am loved by God!  There’s some joy!

So God reminded me that He is the right place to seek joy and that more is on the way.  And I sweated and walked and burned some calories and didn’t buy a thing.  And joyed up.

3 responses »

  1. I’m praying for you — I’ve been in that ‘joyless desert’ before and it ain’t no fun!! I love it that God provided something for you! 🙂

  2. calories burnt, no shopping, beach, sand, God’s giant hand, a good looking sculptor guy building it, and JOY. . . what a GREAT God!

Leave a Reply

