Holidays–BRING IT!

Standard

The family birthday season is finally over.  Hallelujah!

Except for Hubby in two weeks and he’s easy.  Steak, cake, massage, done.

Yesterday Oldest turned 14.  He had a list that would piss off Santa.  And it did.

Burnout 3 at Game Stop $14.99

Tony Hawk American Wasteland  $9.99

Futon

$100.00 for clothes at Hotline or Coastal Edge

Wii

Drumset/guitar with lessons

Madden 09

soccer net

basketball net

ipod (not shuffle)

real soccer jerseys that fit me

new drumset for Rockband

A boom box for the garage when working out

new soccer ball

new sk8 board

a long board

cable for my TV

 

Is that it?  No problem.  Oh, wait.  I forgot.  Our last name ISN’T Gates.  Or Trump.  Or even Philbin.  Not to mention we spent the afternoon at the orthodontist.  With 3 count em THREE patients.  Pass the Paxil, please.

I used to LOVE the offspring party season.  We did a choo choo train theme and found the perfect Baskin Robbins ice cream cake.  The cutest pictures were taken under the table that year.  One year was a race car theme and I made a spectacular figure 8 racetrack cake.  We did painting pottery once and I ordered photos of the birthday kid made into confetti www.photofetti.com.  I’ve made birthday muffins, birthday cupcakes, birthday crowns, and birthday bubbles at Gymboree.  But now it’s all about the birthday bling-age.  I am most definately out of my early childhood comfort zone. 

When 14 boy/man came down the stairs just now and spoke, I thought it was my husband for a second.  Boys & toys.  I guess that’s normal.  But I sure miss the wonder of the bow-on-the-head, play-with-the-box days.  Them ‘r gone.  Woo-oo Bye Bye.  In return is the realization that this time next year he will be searching for Driver’s Ed classes.  With three siblings right behind him. 

Come Lord Jesus! 

Before YOUR birthday works for me.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Shannon!

    LMAO!!!(The A isn’t for a**. It’s for….. for…..I’ll think of something more appropriate..) This needs to be in a magazine! A is for apples!

    Love you!

  2. I’ve recently sat my ‘grown’ daughters down and had a serious talk about finances. In some ways they were still acting like the money grew on trees — it’s tough to get a ‘reality check’. I so want them to be smarter about finances than I was at their age (truthfully, sometimes still am!). Anyway, thanks for the blog — made me laugh as usual! 🙂

  3. Yeah, kids don’t get that money thing, do they?
    For me, the real drain is the “I need 2, 5, 10, 20, 200 dollars for such and such”.
    Oh, I’ll get right on that!!!!!!

    Gotta git, area team coming today, YIKES!

Leave a Reply

