Intentional Pajamas

Standard

How sad am I.  I just went to Target at 6:45.  Wanna know what I got?

socks

travel shampoo & conditioner

travel deoderant

travel toothbrushes

and some Intentional Pajamas.

NO Christmas bargains.  NO ripsticks or ipod accessories or RockBandWorldTourAndThenSome2009.  Just plain ol’ necessities for me.  I know.  Too weird.  Whatever.

It occured to me yesterday (about 23+ years late, probably) that there are some key times in a Grown Woman’s life that it is crucial to wear Intentional Pajamas.  One’s honeymoon would be a good example, but we’re not going there.

I’m talking about Thanksgiving morning, when you want to be comfy as long as possible, but you also have a pile of stuff to be doing (during the commercials of the parade), such as leafing through the bonus newspaper flyers and collected mail catalogs.   Or Christmas morning when you know you’ll be in photos with bed head that are looked at and laughed at for generations to come.  At least the PJs can be new, right?

Also Intentional Pajamas are good for visiting Ye Olde Extended Family.  Which we are doing this weekend beginning later today.  There will be 20 of us under one roof.  Some related, some not.  Some have been around for a while, others have not.  So off to Target I went for Intentional Pajamas.

I’m sure you know what I mean by IPJs but let me just explain, in case you have always grasped the concept and it is not a new thought for you at age 40.  “Pajamas” is a loose term, in my head, as well as the noggins of my offspring meaning “whatever clothes you fell asleep on the couch in.”  I freely admit that most if not all of my clothes are so comfortable that I have worn at least part of them to bed on countless occasions.  But this won’t do for Holiday Extended Family Lolling, which, I can only hope, will happen tomorrow, Saturday, November 29, 2008 at the Grand View.

So the BoyKid got a robe.  I got some thermal pants with cute snowflakes and skiiers on them and some fuzzy socks, since we’ll more than likely be sleeping on the floor.  I believe everyone else is covered.  The girls are pretty up on their sleepwear fashions.  The Big Boy can sleep in soccer shorts & a tee shirt.  That’s not a battle I care to fight.

But I gots me some IPJs.

…to grandmother’s house we go!

2 responses »

  1. I am also late to the Intentional Pajama bandwagon! I now have a couple of pairs that I wear MORE than I care to acknowledge! I have yet to venture out to the store in them though.
    Anymore, I am all about the comfort. Stacey and Clinton would be SO disappointed.

Leave a Reply

