“Pointless” Prayers

Standard

I posed a question on Facebook,  “Do you think I should pray that God would make me taller?  He has the power, right?”

What I was really asking is, “Should people pray for things that probably won’t happen?”  It was really a thinking question and not one that is a real desire of mine (to be taller) although the prayer part is a desire of mine (recognizing God’s power and my need to connect with Him).  I was just wondering about prayers and how they intermingle with our thoughts, desires and wishes.  And do my prayer requests (or lack thereof) always make sense to God?  Am I asking for God to “make me taller” when it’s pretty clear I am as tall as I am gonna get.  And am I thiiiiis { } close to what God really wants me to be praying for?  Or am I neglecting to ask God for something because I think it won’t happen because it’s impossible.   And another thing…will He give me the blessings He has for me even if I have neglected to ask for them ?

Of course God can, and always does, unscramble our sincere ramblings when we call out to Him, but I’m talking about praying with intention.  And on the flip side, praying without “editing.”

To put it in facebook terminology…when we pray vaguely and broadly, for example, for “God’s will to be accomplished,” are we really just “liking” God’s status when what He really wants is for us to be searching his profile page…curious about what He’s been up to,  making public comments, private messages and including others in conversations about Him?   Are we “Suggesting friends” for Him and interested in the “pages” He’s interested in?    (Clearly, I know waaaay too much about facebook).

Why should I NOT ask God to make me grow taller?  Is it because my motivation is wrong?  Is it because He put the DNA process in place before I even entered the world what my height would be?  Is it because I’m wasting God’s time asking for something I know I won’t be receiving?  Is it because “size doesn’t matter?”

Or is it OK to ask such things of God–even knowing such requests are flawed logically–by the simple reason that it still counts as spending time with Him?  He can and does guide my thoughts from what I *think* I want Him to do–knowing He has the power to do the impossible–to revealing what He wants for me, and teaching me (eventually and with great patience) how to ask for that.

He can and will accomplish exactly what He intends to accomplish no matter what I think or feel or ask. So why even ask?

“The Lord of Heaven’s Armies has spoken—who can change his plans?  When his hand is raised, who can stop him?”  Isaiah 14:27

So do you ever ask God to make you “taller?”   When have you persisted in what seemed like a “pointless” prayer?

Leave a Reply

