Unintentional Grandma

Standard

As a Bible Study Fellowship graduate, I was placed in late September in a discussion group with lots of new babies and expectant mommies. After being one of the youngest in my group last year, this year I was shockingly one of the oldest!

In November Lesson 10 mentioned Jesus as our Restorer. In that week’s lecture, Lily highlighted the process of restoration–comparing it to the process of making new a thrift store treasure. Just days before that lesson, my husband and I had discovered that our teen age daughter was 11 weeks pregnant. She is 14 and in the 8th grade. We began trusting Jesus immediately as our Restorer—for our daughter and our family.

In December we studied the Heroes of Faith in Hebrews & were reminded in one of the principles that faith doesn’t always mean immediate deliverance. We were asked the thought provoking questions, “Do you see an unknown future? Unexpected and unexplained? Have you experienced disappointment?” We were challenged to look beyond our immediate circumstances and fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter—the creator of Faith.

In January, lesson 16 asked us to pray Paul’s prayer from 2 Thess 3:1-5 in our current circumstances. Sharing my answer outloud in my discussion group allowed me to share our devastating news with these grace-filled, lovely ladies through tears. Here was my prayer that week, from Paul’s example: “That each family member will hear, know and share Gods word, be delivered from evil men, That our faithful God will strengthen and guard us from temptation. That we will do God’s tasks, guard our hearts & experience Christ’s perseverance.” Then dropping down to vs 16 which was especially meaningful to me: “That the Lord of Peace Himself will give us peace at all times in every way.”   He has done this!
In February, as we studied 2 Cor 2:15 we had the opportunity to experience and witness the fragrance of life vs the stench of death as my daughter was counseled more than once to terminate the pregnancy and she chose life. We were able to provide the aroma of Christ .

In March we went to court to testify against the baby’s father as he was convicted of a felony and added to the Sex Offender registry. I wrote 2 Cor 2:10 on a note card and carried it with me that day: We demolish arguments and every pretention that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every though to make it obedient to Christ.”

That same week we had a positive verse as well which delighted me from Luke 13:17 “…the people were delighted with all the wonderful things he was doing.” I had been surprised and delighted to bump into Sheila from my discussion group at a class for young moms to be and she helped my daughter and me adapt to our new reality through her devotions and care for the girls (and their moms) in this predicament. My own cousin gave my daughter her first ultrasound in South Carolina and prayed with us both. God placed lots of support for us in many surprising ways—a soccer mom, the tour guide at the hospital, sometimes just acquaintances and new stories from old friends.

In April as my daughter got bigger and bigger and it was emotionally draining to deal with the public glances and judgements, one week we sang “sin/despair like sea waves cold threaten the soul with infinite loss, Grace that is greater yes grace untold points to the refuge the mighty cross.”

And now, as my group has prayed us through by ASK prayer requests week after week, even that I would be able to be here to share today, I stand here as a brand new grandmother. This child was born at noon yesterday, is beautiful and healthy and wanted by 3 mommies. God’s choice of the best mommy for him will be taking him home on Saturday—it is my younger sister and her husband from Louisville, KY and a big brother 18 months and a big sister who’s 8.

A principle in May was “God arranges things so we can fulfill our calling.” Part of my calling is PEACE WITHIN no matter what it is God chooses to do with me and my family. I pray we each cling to the PEACE WITHIN as we each look to our new beginnings.

Shannon Hendrix
May 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

