Roxanne–you don’t have to sit on the red bike

Standard

Two of my four teens are gearing up for Summer Jam, our church camp for middle-schoolers and high-schoolers at Watermarks in a few weeks.  Driving around town this weekend, listening classic rock, we heard the song Roxanne and my 15 year old told me about a game they always do at camp:  Everytime you hear the word “Roxanne” you eat a full-size marshmallow, and every time you hear “put on the red light” you take a drink of soda.  Awesome.

I thought that would be a fabulous game for our families to play at Mess Fest next weekend, if not for the troubling lyrics regarding walking the streets for money (which may sound very intriguing to a kid) and also the thing about selling your body to the night (which will not go over well with the parents and also the pastor).

So Sting has been kind enough to allow me to modify his lyrics for our live band His Heart Liaison to sing to a crowd of elementary and preschool students.

Roxanne.

You don’t have to sit on the red bike.

Those days are over, you don’t have to ride that Big Wheel like a tyke.

Big Wheel Girl

Roxanne.

You should always wear a helmet tonight.

Ride the streets your own way.

You don’t care if it’s wrong or if it’s right.

Roxanne.

You don’t have to sit on the red bike.

Roxanne.

You don’t have to sit on the red bike.

Roxanne/sit on the red bike/Roxanne/sit on the red bike/Roxanne/sit on the red bike…

I’ve loved you since I knew ya.

I wouldn’t talk down to ya.

I have to tell you just how I feel,

I don’t care your bike is for a boy.

I know your mind is made up.

So come on tell me whazzup.

I told you once I won’t tell you again, get a Segway.

segway

Leave a Reply

