Failure To Yield

Standard

Day 9 assignment: I must state and move on from a failure.

The problem is not that there are problems. 

The problem is expecting otherwise and thinking that having problems is a problem.  ~Theodore Rubin

I am optimistic by nature.  I like to be flexible and turn unexpected events into fun detours filled with meeting new best friends or acquiring crazy stories.  So it is not easy for me to think of “failures” as such.

Also?  I tend to love me some denial.  True story.

So when my mind attempts to define a failure, I hear my MI pastor’s voice saying “Failure isn’t final!”  Yippee!

I hear my teacher mom saying “This grade isn’t an accurate representation of what you can do.” To which I rebelliously reply in the privacy of my own head, “I know…I wanted to do other things instead.”

I hear, “Do you know why I pulled you over?”   Yes.  Yes I do.  But…but….but…

When I think of interviews that didn’t result in a job, conversations that didn’t result in repentance, or road trips where I didn’t arrive in a timely fashion because of a pesky speeding ticket, I am quick to rearrange the truth, cover it with FAITH or a funny story, and believe that it all worked out for the best.

This may be my ultimate failure.  Failure to slow down.  Failure to listen.  Failure to yield.

It’s a self-centered existence, really.  Failure to yield.  As much as I love gaining sweet sweet energy from being surrounded by others, it is me who often fails to be influenced by them.

Just for today, I will put my failure to yield behind me.  I will yield.

yield

What about you, my friend & fearless reader?  Do you have a fear you would be brave enough to share?  One you’d like to leave behind?  Lay it on me!

Leave a Reply

