Romans Project

Standard

A friend and I have committed for the calendar year 2013 to memorize sections of Romans.  We have two assigned verses each week and often “sign off” on each other’s memorization.  We focus on progress, not perfection.  We have both fallen behind at times.

Life Chapter Romans 8

In April we were finished with the first chapter.  It ends in a pretty bleak place so I was anxious to get to Romans 8.

Romans 8_1

I have been using Scripture Typer to practice my verses.  I think I must be a kinesthetic learner.   I also use the song tunes that come to me as I initially read each verse through.  In early May, I found “Don’t Worry Be Happy”  to be so appropriate for Romans 8:1-2.  If you skip the “Here’s a little song I wrote” part and hum the chorus to verses 1-2 you will have a peek inside my brain.   I am using a different translation than the picture above, so in my head it goes like this:

Woo-oo-oo-oo-oo, Oo-oo-oo-oo-Oo-o-oo 

Therefore there is now no condemnation

Don’t worry 

for those

Oo-oo-oo-oo-Oo-oo-oo

Who are in Christ Jesus

Be happy

because

Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo

In Christ Jesus

Don’t worry, be happy

The law of the spirit who

GIVES you life HAS set YOU free from the law of sin

Don’t worry

and death

ROMans Chapter Ei-eeiii-eiiight

ver-erse 1 and 2

Are you singing with me?

It has been a real gift to see how the verses each week have been amazingly helpful.  Even when I have fallen behind.  Like I am right now.

Yesterday I tried to cram 10 verses to the Les Mis soundtrack.  Unsuccessful. 

But I have 6 more days.

The one I have been recently waking up singing, and makes me want to do a one woman show is this one:

Romans 8_15

This one is from July and I thought I was so clever putting it to an Abba song “Dancing Queen.”  Again, a different translation but here’s how it goes in my head:

You can dance

The Spirit you received

You can jive

Does not make you

Having the time of your life –ooo ooo oo

Slaves so that you live in fear again

See that girl

Rather the Spirit

Watch that scene

You received

Digging the Dancing Queen.

Brought about your ado

ooo ooo ooo oo oo oo oo ooo

ption to sonship.

Anybody could be that guy

And by him we cry “Abba, Father”

NIght is young and the music’s high

The Spirit Himself testifffiiiiiiiieeeees

With a bit of rock music

With our spirit

Everything is fine

 that we are

You’re in the mood for a dance

God’s children

Anybody could be that guy

and if we are children then we are heirs

(fast doodly doo music)

heirs with God and co-heirs with Christ

NIght is young and the music’s high

if indeed we share in his suuuuuuufferings

Where they play the rock music

In order that we may

Everything is fine

also share in

Youre in the mood for a dance

His glory.

Here’s the part that I love to belt out…and SO HAVE NEEDED TO THIS MONTH:

And if you get the chance,

I consider that

You are the dancing queen

Our present sufferings

Young and sweet only 17

are not worth comparing

Dancing queen

With the glory

Feel the beat from the tambourine, Oh yeah

That will be revealed in us

(oh yeah!)

This has been an awfully difficult month for our family and this verse has been a lifeline.  Sometimes I put a particularly sad verse with a peppy tune.  I have called on Elton John, Skid Row, various hymns and the Lion King to assist me as well.  Have you found a good way to memorize a special verse?  IF SO, LEMME KNOW!

 

One response »

  1. I love it! You are a very resourceful, clever and obviously fun person. I am going to try the “song” idea too. I am sure one of my children would definitely love that! Blessings on your scripture journey.

Leave a Reply

