Aside

I tend to start things off with a lot of energy and get excited to pioneer of New Ideas.  It was this tendency which caused me to excitedly sign up for The Romans Challenge in January.  I made little booklets for myself and a friend that contained our weekly verses for the entire year.  There were weeks I fell behind and was reminded that any progress was worth continuing, catching up and celebrating.  There were times when my partner fell behind and I pulled her through with grace.  There were many weeks we didn’t “sign off” on each other’s pages.  What is most amazing to me is how the content of these sequential verses had life and light for me often on the very week that I needed them.  Another surprising development that I could not have anticipated is that I now have a mental calendar of 2013 which is tied to scripture.  I can envision several different places I walked, sat, or sang my verses:  the soccer field in January, an island in SC in April, the beach boardwalk in July, Mount Trashmore in October.  The process has brought me new awarenesses, some giggles, and often perfectly-timed support for myself, my partner, and others which I have been thrilled to pass along.

Now as we close in on the final weeks of 2013, we also prepare to finish memorizing the last verses of The Romans Challenge.  I was really hoping to know all my December verses before Thanksgiving, and admit I have been peeking ahead.

Perhaps the other strange thing that has happened during this process is that I discovered an ability I didn’t think I had.  Because of the tunes and the repetitive nature of this process, I have retained three whole chapters of Romans and can recite them (with or without singing).  I am amazed at the ability of my mostly forgetful mind when I discipline it to focus and do a little bit every day.

I shared some of my tunes here but I’m going to share a few more favorites that make me giggle in my head when I sing them.  I sometimes have to boss around the syllables to make them fit, but it works for my brain.  Enjoy!

Jan 30-Feb 6  Romans 1:9-10

tune:  I Remember You by Skid Row  –the chorus

 

Remember yesterday

God whom I serve in my spirit

walking hand in hand

In preaching the gospel of his son

love letters in the sand

Is my witness how constantly

I remember you

I remember you

through the sleepless nights

In my prayers at all times

and every endless day

And I pray that now at last

 I wanna hear you say

By God’s will the way may be 

I remember you

opened for me to come to you. 

May 22-29  Romans 8:5-6

tune:  I Got My Mind Set on You, George Harrison

I got my mind set on you

 Those who live according to the flesh

I got my mind set on you

Have their minds set on what the flesh desires

I got my mind set on you

But those who live in accordance with the spirit

I got my mind set on you

Have their minds set on what the spirit desires.

But its gonna take money

The mind governed by the flesh

a whole lotta spendin’ money

is de-e-e-e-eath

its gonna take plenty of money

But the mind governed by the spirit

to do it right child

is life & peace (child)

And for the final weeks of the Romans Challenge:

Nov 6-Dec 4  Romans 11-15

(tune:  Hopelessly Devoted To You)

Guess mine is not the first heart broken

 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep

my eyes are not the first to cry

Your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.

I’m not the first to know, there’s just no gettin over you

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction

(instrumental)

Faithful in prayer

and oh, I’m just a fool who’s willing

Share with the Lord’s people who are in need

to sit around and wait for you

Practice hospitality

but baby can’t you see

Bless those who persecute you

there’s nothing else for me to do

Bless and do not curse.  Rejoice

I’m hopelessly devoted to you—oo-oo

With those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.

Hopefully we can rejoice together!  What are your tricks for remembering things?

 

I Remember You, Romans!

Leave a Reply

