Truth –Mid July edition

Standard

I chose the word TRUTH as my One Word for 2014.  I am realizing that this kind of decision is a little bit like “praying for patience.”  MANY many opportunities arise after such a request.  Some of them, not so fun.

So here we are at the mid-point of summer, TRUTH-thousand fourteen.  (see what I did there?)

 Colonel Jessup had it right in “A Few Good Men.”

canthandletheTRUTH

You can’t handle the truth.  It’s unpleasant.  It’s messy.  It’s even ugly at times.

You can’t manipulate it.  You can’t change it.  You can’t paint it different colors to make it prettier.  Sometimes you can’t even take it all in.  It can be completely overwhelming and shake you to the core.

I can sometimes only handle a tiny bit of truth, and I don’t always desire the WHOLE truth, but it is always good for me, helps me, grows me, even as it hurts. 

I can know the truth of a situation and be powerless to communicate it, change it, or be changed by it.

I can be a successful truth-knower, truth-receiver, and a truth-giver in God’s perfect timing & grace.

Truth is not altered by the people who know it or who don’t know it.

Truth is not changed by the people who believe it or who don’t believe it.

The truth I know is still only in part.

I used to think that I could procrastinate knowing or telling the truth and that this avoidance would benefit me in some way.

It is true that truth-procrastination is possible, it is false that it is beneficial.

It is extremely easy to distract self and others from the truth, but it is a waste of time.

A half-truth is convenient, easily shared, quickly believed, and totally manipulative.

Truth gets on my nerves sometimes, like an outspoken friend who is only looking out for everyone’s best interest, but has no time for harmful or silly shenanigans.

Dowage rTruth

Truth is rarely fun, but always fearless.

Truth is a worthy pursuit–may we recognize it, accept it, and speak it in love.

 “We all stumble in many ways.  If anyone is never at fault in what he says he is a perfect man, able to keep his whole body in check.”  James 3:2

 

Leave a Reply

